Academy District 20

 Special Education

The special education staff members of Academy District 20 are committed to empowering each student with a disability to reach his/her unique potential for a life of quality, dignity, and purpose. We strive to provide services to students with disabilities in the least restrictive environment along with non-disabled students to the greatest extent feasible and in accordance with IDEA (Individuals with Disabilities Education Act).
The district offers a continuum of service options and alternative placements designed to meet the individual needs of students. District 20’s service delivery for children on IEPs (Individual Education Plan) is based on individual needs, not driven solely by disability category.
Each school is staffed with at least one special education teacher and a speech/language pathologist. Itinerant staff members (school social worker, school psychologist, school nurse, occupational and physical therapists, and others) are also available to complete assessments, participate in the IEP process, and provide specialized support services as necessary.
All special education professional staff members meet highly qualified standards as appropriately licensed teachers or special service providers through the Colorado Department of Education. Paraprofessionals are often available to assist in implementation of students’ IEPs. For questions regarding Special Education, please call our office at 234-1332 or email

 Special Education Staff

Executive Director for Special Education

Bob Barrows   234-1326


Assistant Director for Compliance

Judy Gudvangen 234-1734


Assistant Director for Instruction

Dr. Belinda Lujan-Lindsey 234-1328



Josh Nichols   234-1375



Eric Purdy 234-1366



Karen Eells-Eaton 234-1371



Dr. Stephanie Barron 234-1327


Significant Needs Specialist

Patti Beemer 234-1370


Autism SpecialistElementary

Rebecca O'Malley   234-1301 


Autism/SLP Early Childhood

Lisa Shurgot   234-1707


Autism Specialist – Secondary Lana Keller 234-1358



 Special Education Office Support

Executive Secretary for Special Education Exec. Director

Robin Stanforth     234-1326


Secretary to the Assistant Directors of Special Education

Anne McCusker   234-1330


Secretary to Special Education

Debra Kelly   234 -1331


Secretary to Special Education

Belinda Barrientos 234-1332



 Additional Special Education Staff




1110 Chapel Hills Dr.

Colorado Springs, CO 80920

(719) 234-1332

8:00am - 4:30pm

Monday -Friday