Academy District 20

 Special Education

 
The special education staff members of Academy District 20 are committed to empowering each student with a disability to reach his/her unique potential for a life of quality, dignity, and purpose. We strive to provide services to students with disabilities in the least restrictive environment along with non-disabled students to the greatest extent feasible and in accordance with IDEA (Individuals with Disabilities Education Act).
The district offers a continuum of service options and alternative placements designed to meet the individual needs of students. District 20’s service delivery for children on IEPs (Individual Education Plan) is based on individual needs, not driven solely by disability category.
Each school is staffed with at least one special education teacher and a speech/language pathologist. Itinerant staff members (school social worker, school psychologist, school nurse, occupational and physical therapists, and others) are also available to complete assessments, participate in the IEP process, and provide specialized support services as necessary.
All special education professional staff members meet highly qualified standards as appropriately licensed teachers or special service providers through the Colorado Department of Education. Paraprofessionals are often available to assist in implementation of students’ IEPs. For questions regarding Special Education, please call our office at 234-1332 or email help@asd20.org
 

 Special Education Staff

Executive Director for Special Education

Bob Barrows   234-1326

bob.barrows@asd20.org

 

Assistant Director for Compliance

Judy Gudvangen 234-1734

judy.gudvangen@asd20.org

 

Assistant Director for Instruction

Dr. Belinda Lujan-Lindsey 234-1328

belinda.lujan@asd20.org

 

 Supervisor

Josh Nichols   234-1375

josh.nichols@asd20.org

 

 Coordinator

Eric Purdy 234-1366

eric.purdy@asd20.org

 

Coordinator

Karen Eells-Eaton 234-1371

karen.eellseaton@asd20.org

 

Coordinator

Dr. Stephanie Barron 234-1327

stephanie.barron@asd20.org

 

Significant Needs Specialist

Patti Beemer 234-1370

patti.beemer@asd20.org

 

Autism SpecialistElementary

Rebecca O'Malley   234-1301

rebecca.omalley@asd20.org 

 

Autism/SLP Early Childhood

Lisa Shurgot   234-1707

lisa.shurgot@asd20.org

 

Autism Specialist – Secondary Lana Keller 234-1358
lana.keller@asd20.org

 

 

 Special Education Office Support

Executive Secretary for Special Education Exec. Director

Robin Stanforth     234-1326

robin.stanforth@asd20.org

 

Secretary to the Assistant Directors of Special Education

Anne McCusker   234-1330

anne.mccusker@asd20.org

 

Secretary to Special Education

Debra Kelly   234 -1331

debra.kelly@asd20.org

 

Secretary to Special Education

Belinda Barrientos 234-1332

belinda.barrientos@asd20.org

 

 

 Additional Special Education Staff

 

Address:

 

1110 Chapel Hills Dr.

Colorado Springs, CO 80920

(719) 234-1332

8:00am - 4:30pm

Monday -Friday